top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMonique Wheatle

Founding a charity from scratch. The creation of African Caribbean Medical Mentors.

My name is Monique Wheatle, and I currently study Graduate Entry Medicine, having completed my Biomedical Science degree in 2018. During the summer of 2017, I co-founded my charity, African Caribbean Medical Mentors (ACMM). This charity aims to realise the potential of prospective and current doctors and dentists from African and Caribbean backgrounds. Prior to applying for medicine, I noticed that there was a lack of accessible support for the application process, which took into account the unique challenges faced by different communities. When I got into medical school, I saw a lack of representation, and after discussion with my peers I realised that this wasn’t just a problem in my medical school – it was a problem throughout the UK.

I saw it is a ‘problem’ for a particular reason – the doctors and dentists that provide healthcare, I believe should not only be representative of the population in which it serves, but also understand the economic, social and racial challenges faced by different groups within the population. As we have seen recently, racial disparities continue to plague healthcare and the people who work within it. It is an important issue and one that is close to my heart.


So, in 2017, I co-founded ACMM with Shikila Edward. Initially, we started with a mentoring scheme – matching prospective students to our mentors who were current students, doctors or dentists. Since then, our mentoring scheme has significantly expanded, we now run outreach in schools, application workshops, personal statement reviews, mock interviews and a number of e-books. We have also worked with a number of esteemed organisations such as Lambeth Council for an annual inspirational event, contributed to the BMA Medical School Charter, and been featured in ITV news discussing the risk BME staff have faced during the current pandemic. Our network continues to grow and currently has over 600 individuals who volunteer with us or benefit from our services.


Founding ACMM has been an incredibly steep learning curve. We had no prior experience with setting up an organisation, and as we are independent from any university – we were on our own. Everything working up to this point has been through trial and error, problem solving and essentially winging it. I design our website from scratch, manage our social media, events, think tank, study abroad network and more. I am very lucky to have a co-founder, trustees, core team and wider network who continuously support ACMM and for our volunteers I am extremely grateful.


A recent highlight was the launch of our ‘Black Student Survival Guide’ – a handbook documenting the experiences of black medical and dental students across the UK and abroad. A continual highlight is receiving positive feedback from people who have used our services or volunteered with us. They make it worthwhile.


I am really excited for what is to come for ACMM. We are currently recruiting for more volunteers to join our team. Our roles are not restricted to those from a medical background, you just need to share our vision and want to make a difference.


If anyone is interested in supporting our work, you can find out more on our website: www.acmedicalmentors.co.uk


Instagram: @acmedicalmentors


Twitter: @acmedicalmentor


Facebook and Linkedin: African Caribbean Medical Mentors

36 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page